Spread the love

Kano Pillars made history at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium in Kaduna today when they recorded a first-ever FA Cup triumph by beating Niger Tornadoes 4-3 on penalties after there were no goals in regulation time.

Last season Ibrahim Musa and players suffered a penalty heart break against Rangers, despite holding a 3-0 lead for the most part of the game.

Don’t miss this ==>> Akpeyi Reveals Who To Blame For Algeria Defeat

Skipper Rabiu Ali, Bature Yaro, Victor Dennis and Emmanuel Anyanwu converted the penalties for Pillars.

Ayo Adetola of Niger Tornadoes missed the decisive kick in sudden death.

This triumph will make up for the Kano team’s last year loss when they surrendered a three-goal lead in the cup final to Enugu Rangers, who went on to win on penalties.

Kano Pillars dominated today’s cup final but poor finishing, resolute defending by Niger Tornadoes and the brilliance of goalkeeper and captain Mustapha Aliko combined to ensure no goals were scored after 90 minutes of action.

Four-time Nigeria champions Pillars, who were runners-up in the NPFL this past season, will represent the country in the 2020 CAF Champions League.

Beaten cup finalists Tornadoes will thus feature in the CAF Confederation Cup as a result.


Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here